Congratulations Chelsea Lewis

Congratulations Chelsea Lewis


Celtic Dragons would like to congratulate shooter, Chelsea Lewis and her partner Adam who will be expecting their first child in May of this year!

This wonderful news means that Chelsea will not be a part of the Celtic Dragons squad in 2020, and so her position in the squad will be filled by former Loughborough Lightning and England Futures shooter, Brittany Coleman. Rhian Evans moves from the Celtic Dragons U19 squad to become a training partner with the Superleague team.

Head coach, Tania Hoffman, said: “I, along with the whole squad, are so pleased for Chelsea and Adam as they embark on this incredible new adventure and we wish them all the best leading up to the big day! Of course, it means that the configuration of our squad changes slightly, but we are very fortunate to have a player of Britt’s quality and experience to call on. Along with Amy Clinton, Rebekah Robinson and Rhian Evans, we have some exciting young talent in the shooting circle as we enter the 2020 season.”

A further change to the composition of the 2020 squad comes as Team Bath NPL graduate and 2019 Bath Under 19 captain Annie O’Rourke takes the position of Leila Thomas who has had to withdraw from the squad due to academic commitments.

Hoffman added: “Leila is a great netballer and will be missed in the squad, but we wish her all the best with her studies this year.

“I am looking forward to the coming season with a new-look Celtic Dragons squad.  The squad has undergone some changes since Fast 5, but our squad contains lots of international experience at senior and age group level as well as some exciting young players from across the netball world.

“We are a comparatively young side, but this enthusiastic group of players is embracing the task ahead with teamwork and a collaborative spirit which is truly refreshing.”

Celtic Dragons 2020 Squad:

Shooters: Amy Clinton, Rhian Evans, Brittany Coleman and Rebekah Robinson.

Midcourt: Sophie Morgan, Shona O’Dwyer, Paige Kindred, Eleri Michael and Laura Burton.

Defence: Dee Bolakoro, Abby Tyrrell, Latanya Wilson, Lucy Howells and Annie O’Rourke.